Regattas at Yorktown can be broken down into two categories: the regular season, which starts in March and runs through the end of April, and the championship season, which covers the month of May.

The exact number and location of the team’s regular season regattas changes year to year, driven in part by the timing of the school system’s spring break and the team’s annual training trip to South Carolina. In general, however, there will be four or five regular season regattas. The team has traveled and stayed overnight in the past for regular season regattas, but generally these contests are day trips, with the most common race locations being on the Potomac River, at Sandy Run Regional Park on the Occoquan and at St. Andrews in Delaware.

The championship season is more structured—with four regattas spread through the month of May.

The first two of these are the Virginia state championship races:

  • The Ted Phoenix regatta or lower boat championships held the first Saturday in May at Occoquan. This regatta is for freshman, novice and lower varsity boats (the 3V).
  • The Virginia state championship regatta for upper varsity boats (1V, 2V and fours), which is generally held the second Saturday of May.

The other two championship regattas are Stotesbury in Philadelphia and the SRAA Nationals, which changes venues but has been held in New York, New Jersey and Tennessee in the past several years. Coaches decide which boats to enter in the Stotesbury regatta, which is the largest high school regatta in the country and extremely competitive. Entries for Nationals are determined through the results of the two Virginia championship regattas, in general if you do well there you qualify for Nationals. Eighth graders are not permitted to row in either of these two championship regattas.

Specific information on who is racing where and when is released on the news page throughout the season.